Author Topic: Hello from Indiana  (Read 9704 times)

Rachael Thompson

Hello from Indiana
« on: December 23, 2010, 02:02:35 PM »
My name is Rachael Thompson and I just recently became serious about researching my Thompson heritage. Currently, I am a college student so I am doing this is the little free time that I have. I was born and raised in Indianapolis, IN, and my family has been in Indiana/Kentucky for a little over 100 years. As best as I can tell, I have located the beginnings of my family tree here: http://awt.ancestry.com/cgi-bin/igm.cgi?op=AHN&db=:a44634&id=I3923 . Robert Mitchell Thompson in line one would be my grandfather, and my father is yet another Robert Mitchell Thompson. We have a copy of a some of my family tree at home, but I have yet to locate it, so until I do, I am using the link above as my family tree.

I know for certain that I am related to Abraham Lincoln through the Shipley side, and I am also related to Stith Thompson, the folklore professor who I have seen linked to on this forum, but I am stuck on how to proceed to get more details. For now, I plan on posting in the genealogy forum to see if I can get started in the right direction.

I can't wait to get to know some other Thompsons and find out more about my family tree! This seems like the best place for me to start that journey.

Rachael

Donna

Re: Hello from Indiana
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2010, 01:41:10 AM »
Welcome to you Rachael   :D

It's so nice to have you join us!   You'll see that we're a fun bunch so dont be shy...
just jump right in!

Donna
ANY DAY ABOVE GROUND IS A GOOD DAY !

Rachael Thompson

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2010, 07:23:00 PM »
Thank you! I know it's a busy time, but I'm hoping to get a more thorough post put together in the coming days so that I can get started on fleshing out my family tree. It's a bit overwhelming to get started, but I think this will be a great resource to help me figure things out. I'm excited to see what awaits me!

Rachael